Londolozi Pioneer Camp

3 luxury suites, configurable as a private homestead · West and central sector, served by Newington Gate. Part of the Londolozi group. · Londolozi

High-end Inside the park Group-owned (Londolozi)

Pioneer Camp is one of five camps that make up Londolozi in the west-central sector. The lodge's own site shows only a from-price, R48,450 per person per night, without a full seasonal breakdown or a stated conservation levy. 3 luxury suites, configurable as a private homestead. Londolozi's vehicles traverse over 16,000 hectares within its own private game reserve, a figure the lodge states directly rather than citing the whole of Sabi Sand, and that traverse is shared across all five of its camps.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Converts to a private bush homestead for six to twelve guests
  • Each of the three suites has its own private plunge pool
  • Two suites can be booked connecting, good for families together
  • Shares Londolozi's 16,000-hectare private traverse across all five camps

Cons

  • Families with children must book a private Land Rover
  • No minimum age found beyond general children's welcome
  • The site does not state what the nightly rate includes

Rates at Londolozi Pioneer Camp

From R48,450 pppn. Londolozi's own site publishes only a 'from' figure for Pioneer Camp: R48,450 per person per night, with 2026 and 2027 shown as tabs on the same page but a full seasonal table not extractable from what the lodge publishes. Converted at 1 USD = 16.35 ZAR on 23 September 2026, that is about $2,963. Londolozi does not state a conservation levy amount for this camp; based on the from-rate, that would likely fall in the reserve's top Tier 1 band (about R957 per person per night in 2026), but confirm with the lodge.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates and fees come from each lodge's own website, read 16 September 2026, cross-checked against the Sabi Sand Wildtuin's own published Guest Conservation Contribution and access fees at sabisand.co.za (the landowners' association, spelled without an 's') and against a reserve overview compiled the same day. Two booking-agent microsites, sabisands.com and sabisands.co.za (both spelled with an 's', unrelated to the association), were checked for cross-reference only and are not used as a source for any rate or levy figure. Ulusaba's own site quotes no nightly rate for its three lodges, so those are recorded as rates on request. Sabi Sabi and MalaMala are not on the Sabi Sand Wildtuin's own lodge list, and neither states whether the reserve's own conservation contribution applies to a stay there; both maintain their own separate levy or none at all, as noted lodge by lodge.

Official website ↗

Questions about Londolozi Pioneer Camp

Is Pioneer Camp good for families?

Yes, with a condition. Pioneer Camp welcomes children and offers two connecting suites, but families with children must book a private Land Rover rather than share a shared game drive vehicle. We found no published minimum age, so confirm the Land Rover cost and any age guidance when you enquire.

Can you book the whole of Pioneer Camp?

Yes. Pioneer Camp's three suites convert into a private bush homestead for six to twelve guests, marketed as an exclusive option for a single group. The lodge's own site does not publish a separate exclusive-use rate, so ask for a homestead quote directly rather than assume it multiplies the per-person rate.

What does the rate at Pioneer Camp include?

Pioneer Camp's own page gives only a from-rate of R48,450 per person per night and does not break down what meals, drinks or activities it covers. A conservation levy likely applies but with no published amount. Confirm exactly what the quoted rate includes before you book.

Can you self-drive to Pioneer Camp?

No. Sabi Sand is a private reserve, so you can only self-drive to your own booked lodge, not around the reserve, and every game drive then runs through Londolozi's own guides and vehicles. Pioneer Camp's own site does not state a transfer time or distance from the nearest gate, so confirm arrival logistics when you book.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Londolozi Pioneer Camp and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Londolozi Pioneer Camp

From R48,450 pppn

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.