Idube Game Reserve
Air-conditioned suites, each with a private pool · West and central sector, served by Newington Gate. Independently owned, not part of any group. · Idube Game Reserve
Idube sits in the west-central sector with 14 suites, each with a private pool, split across three categories. Rates run from R16,000 per person sharing in the cheapest bands of 2026 and 2027 up to R19,250 in the busiest 2027 period, three meals and two daily safaris included, a bush walk added once you stay two nights or more. A compulsory conservation levy is named as excluded from the rate, but Idube does not state the amount on its own rates page, and it does not publish a traversing figure.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Every suite has its own private plunge pool
- A swing-bridge hide with air conditioning overlooks a waterhole
- Baobab spa and a gym on site
- Wifi available in the suites
Cons
- Transfers from the airstrip are excluded from the rate
- Compulsory conservation levy applies with no published amount
- No child policy or minimum age found
Rates at Idube Game Reserve
From R16,000 pppn. 2026: R16,000 per person sharing (16 Nov-19 Dec 2026), R18,000 the rest of the year. 2027: R16,000 per person sharing (8 Jan-31 May and 16 Nov-19 Dec 2027), R19,250 the rest of the year. Converted at 1 USD = 16.35 ZAR on 23 September 2026, the cheapest band is about $978. A compulsory conservation levy is named as excluded from the rate but no amount is stated on the rates page.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates and fees come from each lodge's own website, read 16 September 2026, cross-checked against the Sabi Sand Wildtuin's own published Guest Conservation Contribution and access fees at sabisand.co.za (the landowners' association, spelled without an 's') and against a reserve overview compiled the same day. Two booking-agent microsites, sabisands.com and sabisands.co.za (both spelled with an 's', unrelated to the association), were checked for cross-reference only and are not used as a source for any rate or levy figure. Ulusaba's own site quotes no nightly rate for its three lodges, so those are recorded as rates on request. Sabi Sabi and MalaMala are not on the Sabi Sand Wildtuin's own lodge list, and neither states whether the reserve's own conservation contribution applies to a stay there; both maintain their own separate levy or none at all, as noted lodge by lodge.
Questions about Idube Game Reserve
Is Idube good for families?
We found no published minimum age or child policy on Idube's own site, so ask what applies when you enquire. The 14 suites each have a private pool, and a bush walk is included once you stay two nights or more, which can suit older children, but there is no stated family or connecting-room option.
What does the rate at Idube include?
Idube's rate covers three meals a day and two daily safaris, with a bush walk added once you stay two nights or more. It excludes a compulsory conservation levy, though the site does not state the amount, and transfers to and from the lodge are also excluded. Confirm both costs before you book.
Is Idube good for a honeymoon?
Idube markets a section of its site to couples and honeymooners, though it does not list specific romantic extras there. Every one of the 14 suites has its own private plunge pool, an indoor and outdoor shower, and there is a swing-bridge hide over a waterhole for a quieter outing together.
Can you self-drive to Idube?
No. Sabi Sand is a private reserve, so you can only self-drive to your own booked lodge, not around the reserve, and every game drive then runs through Idube's own guides and vehicles. The lodge's own site does not publish an airstrip name or transfer time, and transfers are excluded from the rate.